Take No Thought For the Morrow

I was once feeling rather down and I was praying for answers. I opened my scriptures, and this is what I turned to.

Take therefore no thought for the morrow: for the morrow shall take thought for the things of itself. Sufficient unto the day is the evil thereof. (Matthew 6:34)

I didn’t really understand the answer at the time, because that scripture didn’t seem to answer any of my immediate questions. But I’ve reflected on it a lot lately.

There are certain things in my life that are only hard if I think about them all at once. Being pregnant is sort of like that–if you try to think of pregnancy all at once, it seems like too much of a struggle. But you take it one day and moment at a time, it’s all right.

It’s like eating the elephant one tiny bite at a time. You can’t worry about the whole elephant.

We all have trials, but I think they are the most difficult when we try to figure out our trial all at once, when we want to see beginning and the end of it all. But we usually don’t know when the end will be.

When trials and struggles come, the best way to get through it is one day, one moment at a time. We can usually do that next step, even if it’s a small step. There is enough to do right now without worrying about what there is to do tomorrow, or the next week, or the next year.

Some of you know that I have struggled with where I am currently living. I have wanted to know when I can leave. But I came to this point when I realized I live here now, I’m not moving today, and that’s all that matters. I am here today and today is sufficient. It brought a lot of peace to me to start thinking like that.

Planning for the future is good if it leads to action today. But you can’t just sit and worry.

I like this quote:

Worrying is an attempt to exert control over the future by thinking about it. (Chad LeJeune)

And we can’t change the future by thinking about it. It just leads to worry, stress, and frustration.

Sometimes, if we get rid of all our worry about the future, the trials we thought we had disappear.

(Photo taken by Dillon Hoyt.)

Leave a Reply

