Patience

Patience is a purifying process that refines understanding, deepens happiness, focuses action, and offers hope for peace.

Dieter F. Uchtdorf, from Continue in Patience

I am not really a patient person. I remember a friend telling me that I was patient once. I was pleased that she would think of me that way, but while I may seem patient at times, my thoughts are often worried about the future and the unknown. And there are time with my children when I just don’t seem to have any patience left in me.

How do we gain patience?

We have to let go of those things we can’t control. There is so much in life that we can’t control and it does us little good to worry about it. We instead focus on what we can control. We work towards worthwhile goals, keep a good perspective, and celebrate small victories. We find happiness in the journey, knowing that we will reach the destination sometime, but it doesn’t really matter when because we can be happy now. And we realize we don’t have to have everything we want in order to be happy.

We have to realize that the world doesn’t revolve around us and get more involved in serving and loving those around us. And we have to trust in God and know that He will take care of us.

It is easier said than done. I struggle, but I am working on it.

895

 

Leave a Reply

