One Thing is Needful

Now it came to pass, as they went, that he entered into a certain village: and a certain woman named Martha received him into her house.

And she had a sister called Mary, which also sat at Jesus’ feet, and heard his word.

But Martha was cumbered about much serving, and came to him, and said, Lord, dost thou not care that my sister hath left me to serve alone? bid her therefore that she help me.

And Jesus answered and said unto her, Martha, Martha, thou art careful and troubled about many things:

But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her.

(Luke 10:38-42)

I am often “cumbered about much serving” and “careful and troubled about many things.” I care too much about how clean my house is; what I am wearing; what I am cooking. I am troubled by my to-do list. I am worried about the future.

I have a picture of this story up on my wall to remember to not worry and to not care about stuff. Jesus said that one thing was needful. Only one. Mary say at his feet and listened. That is what matters.

I do have a lot to do, or a lot that I can do. But all those things should point me to my Savior, not take me away from Him. Serving dinner is not a bad thing, usually; but it was taking Martha away from the Savior. She wasn’t a bad person. She had a testimony and she probably wanted to show Jesus how much she loved him by serving him. But she got too carried away, too troubled with stuff. Even if her intentions were good in the first place, she ended up worrying too much about herself and not enough about things that really mattered. I don’t think Jesus cared about how nice her kitchen looked or how good the food tasted. He cared about the bigger picture. He loved Mary and Martha and He wanted to teach them the word of God.

There are times when I do have good intentions but I get carried away and those things that were once good are taking me away from the Savior. So I need to remember: only one thing is needful.

Leave a Reply

