I know who I am and I am not distracted

I know who I am and I am not distracted.

I am a woman of God, not a woman of the world. A woman of the world cares about how she looks more than who she is. I don’t receive any great acclaim in this life and most of my work goes unrewarded. I want to be more interested in pleasing God, striving to be who he wants me to be.

For so long, I was thinking that I needed to be this specific person–maybe one who could do anything and everything. Even good things became a stumbling block if I focused too much on being this perfect person who could cook, clean, write, sew, garden, earn lots of money, do creative activities with kids, take amazing photographs, get higher degrees.

But God was quietly and patiently guiding me to realize that I have my own unique abilities and talents. I many not ever be particularly skilled or successful compared to others. But with His guidance, I can come back to Him.

Distractions come in many ways, like television, websites, or gossip. But when I know who I am deep inside, when I remember that I am a daughter of God, those things don’t take me away from my identity and purpose. I can serve in small ways, completely unnoticed by most. But I know God watches over me, I know that he loves me, and that is enough.

Inspired by Linda K. Burton, who said, “He knew who he was and what his mission was and was not distracted by the evil that surrounded him.”

Leave a Reply

