Motherhood

Motherhood is near to divinity. It is the highest, holiest service to be assumed by mankind. It places her who honors its hold calling and service next to the angels.

This quote is from the First Presidency of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. I am still striving to understand what being a mother really is. In college, I had a post-it note that I kept with my things that said, “Being a mother is your career.” It was before I got married, before I had children. As I was distracted by career choices and opportunities, I wanted to remember that being a mother was the highest and holiest thing I could do. It was the thing I wanted most.

Even after I became a mother, there were still so many distractions. As I have studied and pondered, I know that being a mother is the most significant thing I can do in my life. It doesn’t lead to any acclaim. It is on most days very ordinary and even boring.

But mothers control the world, for they shape the lives of the people who live in it. It is much more important to raise my children the best that I can, to give them love and guidance and stability, than to be involved in some great project outside the home that will probably be forgotten. My children will never forget me and never forget my love. That is the most important thing I have to offer the world.

Leave a Reply

