Happy

If you think you are happy, you are happy.

I have spent too much time in my life wondering about my own happiness. For a while, I believed this quote by John Stuart Mill: “Ask yourself whether you are happy, and you cease to be so.” I took a whole class on him in college, after all.

But happiness doesn’t have to be complicated. I don’t think happiness is self-centered or self-serving. And seeking out your own pleasure and satisfaction (which are not actual happiness) will make you miserable.

Happiness, for me, comes from knowing who I am, from helping others, from my family, from learning, from a hundred of little things in life. It’s okay to want to be happy and to try to make myself happier, because I am then better able to serve other people.

And, when it comes down to it, I don’t have to have a reason to smile. I can just be happy.

(Inspired by Gretchen Rubin and her book, The Happiness Project.)

Leave a Reply

